Home > Uncategorized > Ogre Comes to Visit

Ogre Comes to Visit

The trials of marrying an ogre.
I wonder if Glumf comes from a mixed marriage?

Story Fragments

It did not occur to me when I married him

that being the son of an ogre

the Ogre himself would end up in my house

from time to time for a visit.

If I had paused I may have imagined

the scene around the dinner table

with bloody shanks of meat and whipped fat,

the sweaty shoes by the door and the sweatier back

moistening the fabric of my brand now sofa,

and the suspicious yellow puddles left in front of the toilet.

You’d think I could have been prepared for the tedious jokes,

the coffee stains down the walls (note to self: buy more bleach),

and the fear that, if angered, he may wipe out the entire village.

He thinks I made the strawberry shortcake for dessert –

fresh whipped cream and all – because I’m sweet.

What he doesn’t know is that the scent of berries cooking

View original post 63 more words

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

